top of page

What's wrong with his back?


on the right you can see his rib cage bumps out

As I walk up the stairs to my office at work I am immediately taken back to a year ago this same time. I was wearing the same shoes; a black pair of flip flops, the only shoes at the time I could fit on my barely recognizable swollen feet. I was about 8.5 months pregnant with my 3rd baby and wanting summer to hurry along so I could meet my little bundle of joy. Fast forward to today, climbing those same stairs, wearing those same shoes I am again finding myself hurrying summer along. This time for a different reason. For a treatment plan.

Three days after our vacation to the happiest place on earth we were in the doctors office and being sent for x-rays of his spine. The next morning we got a phone call for our Pediatrician. He said it was Infantile Scoliosis. Most likely 15-18 years of care/treatment. There will always be bumps and turns in the road we travel in life...this for sure was one of them possibly a bump and turn but nevertheless we will continue on living and loving life.

Scoliosis is a curvature of the spine. You typically hear about this in older children near adolescence. This is not something that is screened for in the doctor's office at such a young age and is usually discovered at home. Infantile scoliosis is considered to be a rare diagnosis...1 in 10,000 children are diagnosed with it and of that about 90% correct on their own and require no intervention. Caleb is not in the 90% category. He will need intervention and the sooner the better. 

Meet the Directors
Untitled

We are Samantha and Ray...

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Our Community 

Supermommy

King of Dads

Babyville

Krafty Kids

bottom of page